Class Comparison By class

Cyzaine

Staff Emeritus
Hey, a newbie here, so don't flame too hard if this is an oft repeated question or if this is the wrong forum. Search didn't come up with much related to this.

I was a vet of the original eq, up to PoP, and will be starting SoD as soon as my new discs come in the mail. While I wait, I had a quick question for the vets. When I played live, I was an Erudite Paladin, having randomly picked a class/race combo without knowing anything. This caused me some real grief ( and much unsolicited SotSS related spam ), particularly early on. Knowing what the general population thought would have allowed me a better noobie combo.

Before I commit to a combo here, I was curious what the general 'stereotype' for each class was, based on what class you play? Things along the line of 'I'm a healer, I think rogues suck as they are mana sponges' or 'I'm a monk, and I think they solo great but dislike rangers... etc etc', are helpful, and give me a fairly good idea of how every class feels about everyone else before I just jump in.

Thanks in advance for dealing with this noobish and somewhat vague question.

I'm a bard and I think there are too many bards.

Lots of people will tell you that paladins, rangers, and mages are a bit underpowered right now.

If you like to solo, I'd go mage, beastlord, or necromancer. If you don't like pet classes, try soloing with a druid or a bard.

I'm a wizard and all tanks are terrible because they don't hold aggro :hmph:

No race/class combo is suicidal here, one of the best paladins on the server is erudite

May I remind those who seem to have forgotten, it is illegal to post about certain things on these boards:

Liam said:
Pirates Beware