Connection Issues

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Wollywack, Sep 18, 2019.

  1. Wollywack

    Wollywack Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    I followed the Steam method on a Windows 10 machine. I keep getting an error that says "a connection to the server could not be reached". It asks me to check my internet, which is definitely working.

    Anyone have thoughts? Common errors? Haven't played since about 2014 so everything looks quite different during the login process. New patcher, etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Stonewalljack

    Stonewalljack Dalayan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Don't know if you are still having the problem, I was just able to connect. I've had that error when others were able to play a couple of times and reseting computer and router fixed it.
     
    Wollywack likes this.
  3. Wollywack

    Wollywack Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks, do you happen to know if there's anything about setup that's not included in the steam guide? I know it said a window is supposed to pop up for EQW where you point to the directory again but I didn't get that step... I'm still getting the error but I'm going to try later from somewhere else's internet to see if that might be the issue.
     
  4. Wollywack

    Wollywack Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    OK turns out it really was just something with the internet connection... so that's semi-promising. But I'm back and logged in so at least I know it wasn't the patcher.
     
  5. Stonewalljack

    Stonewalljack Dalayan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Sorry didn't check forums until today; I know EQW is still downloaded, but I don't know if it is used anymore. I didn't get a pop-up for it when installing on a new comp and the game ran for me.
     
  6. Wollywack

    Wollywack Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah, it's working now, I think the instructions maybe just haven't been updated. I think there was just an IP issue with my connection and as long as I'm on wireless it works. I had seen a comment somewhere else that people had issues with IPv6. I have no idea what these things mean but it might be a place to start for other people having this issue.
     
  7. Ezie3205

    Ezie3205 Dalayan Elder

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    141
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Chicago
    I wouldn't use EQW. I never have and all my friends who have used it reported errors often.
     

Share This Page