WHY - (Dragon vs Giant)

rapidghost

Dalayan Beginner
This thread is to poll the general population, and ask why it seems so many are Giant ally and few are dragon ally? Be forwarned, I'm a total newb!

generally, it seems that dhk has many more upgrades that stormkeep and storm's eye. So people tend to raid giants first then dragons. to me, that is why most guilds are giant ally as supposed to dragon.

Also a quick fyi, dragon forged armor is better for casters while giant forged armor is better for melees (late end questable armor)

I don't suppose anyone that actually has the means to find out for sure which has better items in the end would be up to the task of actually doing so? Something tells me if these two factions are opposites, Wiz and his team wouldn't create an entire faction without balancing them pretty darn closely.

You can progress with either faction. There are enough mobs outside of DHK and SE/SK to suppliment items for slots not covered in these zones.

rapidghost said:
I don't suppose anyone that actually has the means to find out for sure which has better items in the end would be up to the task of actually doing so? Something tells me if these two factions are opposites, Wiz and his team wouldn't create an entire faction without balancing them pretty darn closely.

They are both very balanced from what I see. Each will have advantages that the other does not have. The factions are not opposites beyond the idea that giants and dragons are rivals. In the past, killing giants had less powerful loot all around, but today they seem very similar. If a guild was deciding to pick one faction today, I would probably say the biggest factor is what zone is being killed less.

In actuality, SOD today has very few guilds who actually started after the factions were changed (i.e. faction binding, significant costs associated with changing a faction). With that said, I would hardly say there are so few guilds allied to dragons relative to giants.