How to SOD on a MAC [WINE]

Discussion in 'Technical Support' started by Nebi, Nov 20, 2013.

  1. Nebi

    Nebi Dalayan Pious Diety

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Instructions if you do not want to install the wine application

    Playing if you already have a EQ Titanium Install --
    #1 - Download the EQ Wine Wrapper located here - http://www.shardsofdalaya.com/SoDMac.zip
    #2 - Move the app file into your applications folder
    #3 - Right click the SodMac app and "Show Package contents"
    #4 - Copy your Titanium install into drive_c >> SOD (all files must be in the SOD folder)
    #5 - In the advanced tab make sure EXE FLAGS says patchme
    #6 - Click Done / Quit
    #7 - Edit the eqclient.ini file (drive_c >> SOD >> eqclient.ini) and make sure to set "WindowedMode=TRUE". The game
    must be run in windowed mode for it to work.
    #8 - Download the patch files located here http://www.shardsofdalaya.com/patch_files.zip
    #9 - Extract the files into drive_c >> SOD
    #10 - Play everquest

    Playing if you are doing a fresh install
    #1 - Download the EQ Wine Wrapper located here - http://www.shardsofdalaya.com/SoDMac.zip
    #2 - Move the app file into your applications folder
    #3 - Select Install Windows Software (if you have ever used Daemon tools on windows its similar to this)
    #4 - Install application to drive_c >> SOD
    #5 - In the advanced tab make sure EXE FLAGS says patchme
    #6 - Click Done / Quit
    #7 - Edit the eqclient.ini file (drive_c >> SOD >> eqclient.ini) and make sure to set "WindowedMode=TRUE". The game
    must be run in windowed mode for it to work.
    #8 - Save and exit eqclient.ini
    #9 - Download the patch files located here http://www.shardsofdalaya.com/patch_files.zip
    #10 - Extract the files into drive_c >> SOD
    #11 - Play everquest

    Note: You might crash the first time opening the application as something is wrong when you accept the eq eula. Normally
    just restarting the program fixes this.


    Instructions if you have wine installed
    ** Coming soon
     
  2. Nebi

    Nebi Dalayan Pious Diety

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,235
    Questions Asked -


    Thats exactly what I did. I just had a random install on a thumb drive and just passed it into wine and it worked flawlessly.
     
    Last edited: Jan 14, 2014
  3. DernipDaGnome

    DernipDaGnome Dalayan Adventurer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    So I've been trying to get SoD running via wine and have had no success...

    I copied a fully patched version of SoD to the wine folder. The game will load and I can log in however at the character select screen I encounter a level 0 warrior named 'load' in The Eternal Well. So odd. Did anyone else encounter this whilst attempting to get SoD to run via wine?

    Also, I have the .exe file set to eqgame.exe - is this correct? Both this shortcut and the Everquest.exe will load but both encounter the same problem I spoke of above. I tried setting the .exe to sodpatcher.exe however it will not patch and gets stuck right off the bat.
     
  4. AaronSoD

    AaronSoD Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    I got this running without any problems. Didn't quite understand at first that the programs should be in a folder off the root called SOD rather than in the program files. Thank you for the wrapper. I haven't experimented yet but is it possible to run two instances and if so, how do I switch between them?
     
  5. Ziera

    Ziera Dalayan Beginner

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    I just use VMware to run SoD in Windows on Mac. I think this is the best and easiest solution.
     

Share This Page